Follow Along as I Stumble on the Path to Learning RoR

Useful Rails Testing Gems

Here’s a list of Rails gems that have been helpful in testing for me:

RSpec Rails – for using the RSpec framework for testing

Capybara – for testing the app like a visitor would interact with the web app

Factory Girl Rails – makes it easy to create instances of models and associations

Shoulda Matchers – makes it easier to test and verify things with methods that use easy to understand language

Database Cleaner – to help keep your test environment from having a bunch of extra and redundant data

Warden – since I use Devise, this makes it easy to sign in in my Capybara tests without having to go to the login screen each time (and then to the pages I really want to test)

Guard – allows me to automatically test the code and specs that I change so I don’t need to remember to manually kick off a test each time a change is made

Launchy – useful with Capybara tests when I can’t figure out why a test is failing.  Launchy launches a browser so you can see the contents of the page.’save_and_open_page’ line to your spec when you want to do this.

 

Comments are closed.