Follow Along as I Stumble on the Path to Learning RoR

Creating a CSR on Windows

In order to create a SSL Certificate, you need to generate a CSR, or Certificate Signing Request.  I ran into some issues when generating one from Windows, so I wanted to document the steps that I took.

  1. went to http://slproweb.com/products/Win32OpenSSL.html to download Win32 OpenSSL v1.0.0k
  2. installed OpenSSL
  3. I received an error regarding C++ during the install, so I installed Visual C++ 2008 Redistributables from the same page I downloaded OpenSSL
  4. Run a command prompt (cmd.exe from the search box in the Windows start menu)
  5. When I tried to run an OpenSSL command, I received an error that a file could not be found (WARNING: CAN’T OPEN CONFIG FILE: /USR/LOCAL/SSL/OPENSSL.CNF)
  6. As noted here, you have to set the environmental variable by typing this into the cmd: set OPENSSL_CONF=c:\[PATH TO YOUR OPENSSL DIRECTORY]\bin\openssl.cfg
  7. navigate to the bin directory
  8. enter your openssl command to generate your csr.  For me, it was:
    openssl req -nodes -newkey rsa:2048 -keyout myserver.key -out myserver.csr
  9. this created key and csr files I could use for creating my SSL certificate
Comments are closed.