Follow Along as I Stumble on the Path to Learning RoR

Welcome Email After Devise Confirmation

After getting :confirmable working for the Rails Devise gem, I wanted to create a welcome email that would tell the user that they successfully confirmed their account and welcoming them to the site.

Here are the steps I took:

  1. Create the email views and placed them in my mailer directory
  2. I use User.rb as my model, so I created an observer to watch changes to the models.  In that app/models/user_observer.rb, I put this code:

def after_save(user)
# Send Welcome Mail after confirmation
if user.confirmed_at_changed?
Mailer.welcome_mail(user).deliver!
end
end

This watches for the change in confirmed_at, then sends my email (welcome_mail).

3.  In application.rb, added this:

config.active_record.observers = :user_observer

Comments are closed.