Follow Along as I Stumble on the Path to Learning RoR

Migrating from Heroku Shared DB to MySQL DB

I wanted to migrate from Heroku’s shared database to a MySQL database because:

  1. the shared DB has a limited level that you can scale to
  2. some of the Heroku add-on partners are a lot cheaper than Heroku’s DB offerings
  3. my development is being done with a MySQL DB, as opposed to Heroku’s PostGRESQL, and I did have one snafu where a query worked locally, but not on PostGRESQL
  4. it’s hard to see (and edit) data that’s in the Shared DB
  5. Heroku only allows read-access to the Shared DB, so it would’ve forced me to use their worker Dynos which are more expensive than something like Iron Worker workers for a lot of the tasks I wanted to do with workers

 

Comments are closed.