Follow Along as I Stumble on the Path to Learning RoR

Mail on Desk.com

Desk.com provides free access to their software for one agent, so I set this up.  It took me a little more time because I use Heroku (which doesn’t host mail), with Google Apps mail.  Normally you would use your DNS settings for mapping the email in Desk.com.  However, since my email is hosted on Google Apps, I needed to route it through them.

Ironically, there’s no documentation on this on desk.com, which is software for the help desk.  You’d think they would be better about offering help since they provide help desk software – not the case.

It took me awhile, but what worked was, in the email (channel) settings:

  • enter the email with my domain (ie info@mydomain.com)
  • select IMAPS
  • enter the host as imap.gmail.com

When I tried other settings, such as pop.gmail.com or smtp.gmail.com I got errors indicating that the certification did not match (ie domain name vs gmail.com).  When I wrote desk.com’s support they said it was an adjustment on the mail side.  This was not the case I found, after playing with it for an hour, it was just a setting change within desk.com.

Comments are closed.